Rugby League World Cup: Australia edge out England to retain trophy

UK News
Spread the love

Highlights from the Rugby League World Cup final between England and Australia
Rugby League World Cup final
Australia (6) 6
Tries: Cordner Goal: Smith
England (0) 0

Australia edged out England in a tight and nervy Rugby League World Cup final to retain the trophy at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane.

England produced a dogged and resilient performance in their first final for 22 years, but the Kangaroos held on to win an 11th world title.

Boyd Cordner smashed through for the only try of the game as England restricted Australia to six points.

They had chances of their own, but could not breach the hosts’ defence.

It was a monumental effort from England against a team who came into the game as overwhelming favourites.

Having lost to Australia 18-4 in their opening game, Wayne Bennett’s side both improved and impressed during the World Cup, holding off Tonga 20-18 for a memorable semi-final win against Tonga before this thrilling final.

Australia’s victory, meanwhile, completed a World Cup double, with the women’s team having beaten New Zealand 23-16 earlier.

The tightest of margins

Cordner try wins World Cup for Australia

England were forced to soak up wave after wave of Australian attacks in the first half as the Kangaroos built relentless pressure, completing 23 of 25 sets before the break.

Only a five-minute spell of indiscipline cost Wayne Bennett’s side, a high tackle from Luke Gale starting a spell in which Australia enjoyed four straight sets.

Kallum Watkins fumbled a Cooper Cronk kick over his own line and Ryan Hall caught another as England were forced into back-to-back in-goal dropouts, before James Roby was pulled up for another penalty.

From there, Australia made them pay. Aaron Woods drew in several tacklers but managed to get an offload away and the Kangaroos capitalised as back-rower Cordner hit the line at speed to crash over.

Michael Morgan thought he had added to Australia’s lead after the interval when Josh Dugan caught Gale’s cross-field kick beyond his own touchline and broke clear to set the field position, before Jordan McLean put Morgan over.

But referee Gerard Sutton called it back for an obstruction by Cameron Smith, and from then on England looked the more likely to cross.

Jermaine McGillvary was superb on England’s right but the dangerous Huddersfield winger could not find the gaps to add to his seven tries in the tournament.

The chance of the match for England fell to Watkins after the centre did superbly break the Australia line and looked to be in the clear, only to be felled by a last-ditch Dugan tap-tackle.

A missed opportunity?

Sam Burgess captained England in Sean O’Loughlin’s absence

England assistant coach Denis Betts said in the build-up to the game that “nobody ever remembers the losers” – but the man who captained the team in their last World Cup final defeat may change his mind after a mammoth effort.

The bookmakers had the Kangaroos as overwhelming 1-7 favourites, but there was certainly not that margin between the teams as England produced a solid defensively display and Australia looked to be out on their feet come the final whistle.

Many did not expect England to reach this stage – pre-tournament the final was being billed as a fourth successive showdown between Australia and New Zealand.

The Kiwis’ shock quarter-final exit to Fiji came after they had already been beaten in the group stage by Tonga, with England knowing then that there would be no repeat of the semi-final heartbreak they suffered at the hands of New Zealand in 2013, when Shaun Johnson scored a sensational last-minute try to send his side through.

England certainly faced a more bruising route to the final than their Australian hosts, who only conceded three tries all tournament, but there was no sign here that the narrow semi-final win over Tonga had taken anything out of Bennett’s team.

Gareth Widdop caused problems as he joined the line from full-back, as well as reading Australia’s kicking game and positioning himself superbly in defence, while captain Sam Burgess, along with James Graham, led a ferocious forward pack in the absence of experienced skipper Sean O’Loughlin.

It may have been a different story but for that Dugan ankle tap on Watkins and had England’s execution been better at key moments, McGillvary spilling in a good position in the first half and Gale passing behind John Bateman in the second.

England international Sam Tomkins, not selected for the tournament, said it was “a missed opportunity” for the team.

“We could have won that with just a matter of minutes left,” the Wigan Warriors full-back told BBC One.

“I don’t think we have played them in the last five or six years and got that close, one ankle tap, one moment, but we are making strides.”

End of an era for Australian greats?

Australia retained the World Cup without losing a game

It might not be an Australia side to rival some of their greatest over the years, but there can be no arguing the Kangaroos are deserved world champions having won six games from six and conceded just 16 points.

It is also a side that has witnessed legends such as Cronk, Smith and Billy Slater, the latter two of whom played in the side stunned by New Zealand in the 2008 final in Brisbane.

Kangaroos captain Smith, who won the 2017 NRL Grand Final alongside Slater and Cronk, said this victory is “one of the toughest games I have played in my career”.

“The three of us have had a remarkable year for club, state and country. If this is the last time we get to play together what a special memory to have,” the 34-year-old added.

Full-back Slater has come back from multiple shoulder operations to return, but said at the final whistle he “will probably retire at the end of the year”.

As for Cronk, the 33-year-old playmaker did not comment on his future, but was was at his creative best against a resilient England defence and his game management proved key to shutting down a game to help the Kangaroos home.

What next for England and Bennett?

Bennett said before the game that reaching the World Cup final with England was his target when he took charge two years ago.

The Australian’s contract with the Rugby Football League is effectively now up, and he is yet to commit to a new deal.

The veteran Brisbane Broncos boss helped engineer a New Zealand upset against Australia in the 2008 final, and came close to shocking his home nation again nine years later in England’s narrow loss.

Asked about his future following the defeat, Bennett said: “I’m not talking about that tonight, I’m not in a good state to talk about those things.”

England, with or without Bennett, will take confidence from their best performance at a World Cup in 22 years as they head into a three-match Test series with the Kiwis next autumn.

It will be a series you can follow live on BBC TV, radio and the BBC Sport website.


England: G Widdop; J McGillvary, K Watkins, J Bateman, R Hall; K Brown, L Gale; C Hill, J Roby, J Graham, B Currie, E Whitehead, S Burgess (capt).

Interchanges: A Walmsley, T Burgess, C Heighington, J Lomax.

Australia: B Slater; D Gagai, W Chambers, J Dugan, V Holmes; M Morgan, C Cronk; A Woods, C Smith, D Klemmer, B Cordner, M Gillett, J McGuire.

Interchanges: W Graham, J McLean, R Campbell-Gillard, T Frizell.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *